200 Dreams From Captivity Book 1

Poems by Chinese Democracy Activist Wang Dan
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIN
Tagged in
Wang Dan was one of the pro‐democracy student protesters who were involved in the 1989 Tiananmen Square Massacre; he spent the next seven years as a political prisoner. While in captivity, Wang Dan wrote numerous breathtaking poems, exploring love, yearning and hope. 200 Dreams From Captivity: Book 1 is a dramatic cycle of five of these poems, translated into English by Shalin Liu and Scott Wheeler. Book 1 from this cycle received its premiere at the American Academy of Arts and Letters, performed by baritone Trevor Martin, with Ensemble Echappé conducted by Jeffrey Milarski.